top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJessica Tooth

Production Week 1 - Cinematographer


After receiving the final script for the project, I began a 3-pass breakdown of the script. I highlighted and annotated the script by technical components, subtext and creative elements using a colour-coordinated key to do so. I believe this is an important part of the pre-production process as it allows me, as the Director of Photography for Murder at Curtain Call, to gauge a deep understanding of the screenplay along with the characters and locations within it, allowing me to make informed decisions of how best to represent the emotions and settings through the camerawork and lighting.


To round up my research so far, I began compiling footage from key films, television shows and music videos into a sizzle reel, inspired by Shealin Murphy’s work on Burned Out. With the editing being completed in Adobe Premiere Pro, the aim of the sizzle reel is to showcase texts I have draw inspiration from in devising the visual style of Murder at Curtain Call. Examples include Bad Times at the El Royale (Drew Goddard, 2018), Wolf Alice’s music video for Delicious Things (Jordan Hemingway, 2021), Blade Runner 2049 (dir. Denis Villenueve, 2017). This sizzle reel will be referred to on set, as well as being posted on social media to give audiences a flavour of what to expect from our film (supporting the video proposal). Javier Pérez De Lema’s prior knowledge of the film noir and murder mystery genres was vital in shaping the video.


Using the films I had watched and compiled for the sizzle reel, as well as the first pass script breakdown as a reference, I began drafting the shot list. I included the following information: shot number, shot description, shot size, shot type, movement, location and a space for notes. When the first version of the shot list is finished, I will review it with Javier Pérez De LemaJulia Smithand Amelia Leader in order to consider the more technical aspects, such as equipment, lens and whether the proposed camera and lighting set-ups will be possible in the locations we have booked. As the location for James’ house has not yet been confirmed, I have taken this into consideration when compiling the shot list.






1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page