top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDanay Zemichael

Post-Production - Editor

Post-production Week 3- 19th – 24th April 2022 – Week 1

First Week of Post-Production has gone smoothly. I started creating a draft by myself to see what works and what doesn’t. When editing the first half of the film, I noticed a lot of continuity errors that became a bit of a struggle for me to fix. I also found out that when we did the reshoots, one of the Blackmagic was not configured properly and because of that the telephone scene with James is jittery. Javier and I have spoken about possible ideas that we can come up with to solve it and we’ve decided that we’re just going to use the first shoot we done. Millie, Julia, Javier, and Jess filmed their bit of their EPK, they spoke about the shoot, what were the ups and the downs, what was their favourite scene to shoot and why etc. Mine and Emma will be shot in the soon.



Post-Production 25th April- 1st May 2022 – Week 2

Second week of post-production. I was completing the second part of the film such as the murder scene and beach scene. I found the beach scene very difficult to edit due to the fact that it’s filmed on the beach, and it was very windy so what I had to do was I made a new timeline in premiere pro and synced up every clip we shot for that scene and then I got Javier to decide what camera angles we need for each line.



Post-Production 2nd – 8th May 2022 – Week 3


Not much happened this week other than correcting sound issues and Javier helping me out with a lot of the continuity issues I was coming across. Javier too my SSD to use his computer at home due to the influx of students booking out edit suites and not being able to find one. He also took it to correct some scenes in the film because he had a better understanding than me. He’s told me he’ll message me when he needs help with certain things, because premiere isn’t his strong suit.

Post-Production 9th – 15th May 2022 – Week 4

This week we filmed for the EPK, including an interview with myself. I got a rough edit done of all the interviews to use and cut out the less important bits of it. I was also with Javier and Jess during the colour grading process, to give some input on the colour grading. Javier also gave me a bit of music he would like to be put into the film. I also gave some input into the music choice by taking some inspiration from the films I watched as part of my research.


As I mentioned before, we had some technical difficulties whilst being on set with sound. So, I had to go on Adobe Audition and see what the solution is via YouTube tutorials. The audio does sound better but it’s not up to scratch compared to the others we recorded.


Javier also showed the colour graded version to the group and with the final edit. All of the casts took notes and gave them to Javier and I to take and improve.




Post - Production 16th – 22nd May 2022 – Week 5


We’re getting to the final stages of Post-production now. Javier is hard at work trying to fix the colour grading and taking on the notes the others have provided for us. I’ve started getting an assembly edit done for the EPK and made the trailer. When making the trailer, I came up with different type of draft concepts of the trailer to what worked with the feel of the film. I didn’t want it to be a modern trailer because the film is set in the 1940s so it just wouldn’t make sense. I also gave the link of the latest draft to a couple of friends (non-university) of mine to see what they think of it and for them to write notes down. Overall, they liked it but mentioned to me that the scene where James finds Madeline’s Body, it went to by too quick for a scene that is very crucial to the film.



Post-Production 23rd – 27th May 2022 – Week 6


This week is the final touch ups of the film. Javier showed us the colour graded edit with a few tweaks from the audio with help from a fellow classmate. We had a screening of the film Infront of our class, we all wrote down some notes on how we could improve, we saw a lot of issues with the audio and visuals in terms of colour grading. I finished off editing the EPK and trailer. No issues regarding the EPK, had the group give me feedback on it and I fixed them on the spot. The EPK and film are all done and ready to be uploaded. I am so happy we completed the film. Although we had some ups and downs I was really proud with our group and final project.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page