top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmma Boogaard

Pre-Production - Production Design

Week 1

Hi everyone, as promised, here is an update regarding our new project, Murder at Curtain Call.

We are currently in the pre-production stage. As a production designer, I have been focusing on the character's costume, which will reflect personalities of the various characters. In addition, through set design and props, I aim to capture the authenticity of the 1940s. Through my extensive knowledge and research, I hope to skilfully transfer the film into the 1940s era with film noir and Neo-noir elements to appeal to the modern audience. Attached below are some costume designs I have been working on.

I hope you like it!

Week 2

Hi, another update! These past week, I spent acquiring costumes for our upcoming film, Murder at Curtain Call. I spent days rummaging through second-hand stores and charity shops, which proved to be an excellent source for old-style clothing, which is ideal for the 1940s setting. I have managed to sort the costume for our female characters and am still in the process of getting the male costumes sorted.


Set design is also a component of production designer, and I am currently working on the set for the theatre dressing room. I spent the first week doing research and am now in the process of painting the fake walls. Thank you also to the wonderful crew who assisted me! I am looking forward to continuing to decorate and fully immerse myself in the great 1940s aesthetic.


I have attached some pics of my set design and hair and makeup brainstorm. Enjoy!


Week 3

Hi, another update. The pre-production stage is finally over, but I wanted to give you an update on how it all went. As a production designer, I concentrated on the character's costume and set décor during the pre-production stage. I finally managed to secure all the costumes for the characters and also managed to get all the décor from second and thanks to The Little Furniture, who allowed us to borrow a few items.


The costume was crucial as I wanted to reflect the individual character's personalities. As a result, Linda, who is relatively serious, dresses in a conservative manner, in contrast to her sister Elisabeth. Elisabeth's attire features a more expressionistic colour patent and design because she is extroverted and bubbly. Regarding James, I wanted to emphasise his social status by having him wear a nice suit. I also wanted the costume to signify the relationships among the characters. Therefore, James will wear a red tie at Madeleine's theatre rehearsal, and Madeleine will wear red gloves to symbolise their covert affair.


The set design was also a component of production design which evoked the 1940s era and combined film noir trademark elements such as Venetian blinds, dingy offices, elegant dressing rooms, etc. The space was intended to reinforce the geographical location as well as the narrative. For the dressing room scene, after painting the walls I focused my attention on the décor. The décor in the dressing room was all carefully thought out to portray the 1940s era by having posters of films and actresses of that specific time period. The pieces in the dressing room are also quite feminine and elegant to reflect Madeleine's personality. Regarding James Miller's house, I was more drawn to the art deco style, especially in the living room.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page