top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDanay Zemichael

Pre-Production - Editor

Week 1 - Editor


Pre-production day one is going nicely. Javier, Julia, and Millie have handed me the final script. I'm currently breaking down the screenplay and jotting down ideas for editing techniques to employ in those specific sections, as well as potential foley noises to record during and after filming.



As I’m the editor and sound recordist, pre-production has gone a bit slower for me, but my group and I are talking about scheduling test shoots.


Week 2

This week I researched the interrogation scene and looking at past noir films to watch to help me prepare for my role as editor. I’ve been given a list of films to watch by my director Javier to study by taking notes. The films I closely looked at were Laura (1994) and Knives Out (2019). I did this to compare first noir films to Morden and how they tackled interrogation.




The film Laura (1944) follows a similar storyline to our film. Like Murder at Curtain Call, the film follows the murder of a woman and a detective trying to find out who committed the crime. I’m researching specifically on how it cuts to each shot. I noticed that in beginning of the scene, there were a lot of basic cutting back and forth when the two characters were talking, but when the conversation got intense, the close up of her stayed. I found similarities in Knives out too. When Detective Blanc interrogates Walt, the very zoomed close up when he gets pressured is something I would like implemented into our film. I have suggested we do something similar but we’re in the early process of pre-production.


Week 3

In the parlour room this week, I was with my professor Chris Greybe, who showed me how to use DaVinci Resolve and the basics of colour grading. He went through how to colour grade, how to get rid of exposure, how to colour grade different skin complexions without ruining the backdrop colour, and how to use the colour grading panels in this session. He even advised me on which codec the film should be in. I took notes, practised in the parlour room that week, and returned to my group to inform them that we needed to improve the quality of our filming and recording with the Blackmagic. We spoke about the idea of using and we came to an agreement that we would so that it gives us a lot more freedom in colour grading.


We also planned to do some test shoots this week. We also have a date for our first day of shooting, which is next week Saturday.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page